Is Your Resume full of “Vapor Ware”?


I’m continually surprised at the amount of “creative license” that goes into some resumes.  In the technology industry we called that VAPORWARE, you know claiming the current version or the “we’re just about to release” version of software that never really lives up to the hype? 

If you are acting as a Company of One, you have to be very protective of what you are claiming as your products and the value you can bring to your clients (employers).  It is easy to fall into the trap of wanting your experiences to match up well to a company’s job posting and needs.  Ask your self the following questions before you put something on your resume (corporate brochure) or worse say it in a live interview when it’s really called lying….

  1. Can I describe a SPECIFIC project where I implemented the same process or program or service and can quantify and qualify the result?
  2. Do I know someone who can verify or substatiate or support my claims that I can deliver that value (Customer Referral)
  3. Can I write a detailed description (Engineering Specification) of how I accomplished the task/project
  4. If I can’t do the project exactly, can I describe it in such a way that will allow me to take on a majority of the project and let the Customer (employer) know that I will develop that skill as I go along? (This is selling but with integrity, it may result in not getting the job, but you’ll save the opportunity to come back and sell again)

That’s it.  Don’t say you can do something because you’ve seen someone else do it and you believe you can.  You can certainly say “I haven’t done that specific  project, but I have delivered on similar projects and based on my education and other leadership experiences….”  In some instances you won’t get the job, but you won’t be giving the potential customer “the business” and you may be able to close on another position laters….

jk

About John Kalusa

A Career Management Thought Leader and creator of the "A Company of 1" approach to career management, development and mastery. Revolutionizing the way we approach our careers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

